Pokémon GO !

My daughter asked me if I wanted to walk with her last night. I checked the time, it was almost 11pm. I was shocked!  (It’s unusual for her to ask me.) I’ve been sitting in front of my computer for the most part of the day doing schoolwork. I checked my FitBit and I was far from my daily step goal of 10,000 steps so I was so happy to have a walking buddy. I wasn’t worried since the Kaiser ER across the street had a huge well lit parking lot with 24-hour security. Then I heard her telling her sister “Come on, let’s go catch some Pokémon’s.”. Ugh! There’s no way I’ll be meeting my DSG, they’ll be walking slow.

Anyway, I debated for a couple of minutes. I thought, I’ll be getting more steps in if I jumped on my treadmill and I’ll be ranking probably #1 on my “Workweek Hustle” challenge, however, I was more concerned about getting my daughters to move around so yeah, I had to make this a “Win-Win”. So off we went.

PG.jpeg

I couldn’t believe it! There were other kids roaming around looking for Pokémon in the middle of the night. Don’t they have better things to do? It’s almost midnight. It’s a week day. Then I realized, there were parents walking around, too. Probably doing the same thing I’m doing. Getting their kids to move around. I guess it’s safer to do it when there’s not a lot of cars, the streets aren’t so busy. I was a little worried when I heard the girls talking about this app called Pokémon GO! last Sunday on our way to church. I was already thinking about possible accidents but at the same time I was thinking, “Thank God, a game that will get them off the couch!”.  Not that they’re always on their butts but my oldest daughter is a reader like me. She devours books. So I really embrace this game with open arms.

Being a nurse, I’m really worried about the obesity epidemic in the US and the world, so games and apps like these which makes people move about is something that I’d love to be a hit. Whatever happened to the Wii, PS, Xbox… it seems like they just died a natural death. I wish there were interactive books that would make people move around instead of just sitting or lying down while reading. That would be an excellent idea for an app! Calling any genius out there!

Oh, and by the way, I did make my DSG by midnight, I got 14,698 steps in… #1 and had bonding time with my daughter…Win-Win…  Woooot!!!

Carpe diem!

LIVE  ❤ LAUGH … BELLE PAPILLON 

 

 

PS:  07.18.2016 — I received a lot of questions about the game  Pokémon GO! after I posted my blog that was too specific about the game then I found this article “Pokémon Go and the Politics of Digital Gaming in Public“. It basically breaks down the game and more. It’s a long read and pretty detailed though but it’s worth your while. Check it out.

2 thoughts on “Pokémon GO !

  1. This made me crack lol. In da night! Wow. Parenting ain’t easy. But inspire that what you said is right. Esp the bonding and exercise. Everything comes with an advantage n disadvantage.
    With the tips above I will try to embrace the game.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment