7 Scary Self-Hosted Blog Truths You Need To Know

Thanks for sharing this info.
I read somewhere about blogger’s remorse on not doing self-hosting right off the bat. Last year, I thought that I had to be proactive since I had trips planned and wanted to have a travel blog later on when I start my epic backpacking trip but after I read some posts from my blogger friends about the hassle of transfering stuff I decided to sign up (impulsively).
I spent cash that was way over my budget with the add ons and what nots… it’s been half a year and it’s just floating in the www with nothing. I’m so low tech and I feel overwhelmed just thinking about how to set it up… and to worry abut the regular maintenance!?
I’ll have to eventually deal with it but in the meantime I’m wasting my money coz it’s just sitting out there.
IMHO people really have to think hard about decisions like this especially if there’s money involved and if you’re tech challenged like me. Don’t bite more than you can chew.

Elena Peters

I can’t believe it has been a whole year since I migrated from WordPress.com to a self-hosted blog at WordPress.org. What a journey! It hasn’t been easy. I have made a lot of mistakes and I have learned so much. So much that half the time I forget stuff. Lucky I take notes and bookmark pages or it would all be lost forever. Let’s call it over flow and not midlife, K?

View original post 1,485 more words

2 thoughts on “7 Scary Self-Hosted Blog Truths You Need To Know

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this post. I recently went back to wordpress dot com because of the hassle. I think it is important for bloggers to know that they should not feel pressured to go the self hosted route. It isn’t for everyone.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

