The (almost lost) Art of “Thank You Note” writing

 

I strongly  believed we should be grateful for all the blessings that come our way, both good and bad. It is easy, of course, to be grateful for the good things in our lives, however,  I feel that we should  be equally thankful for the misfortune, or “blessings in disguise” for they usually come with lessons that make us stronger,  builds character and usually contributes to our success. That’s why I really loved Madonna’s “Woman of the Year” speech. She basically relayed my exact sentiments.

Thanks-tumblr_mug0cl7lUX1qitvdso1_500.png

How hard is it to take a moment to sit down, put pen to paper, write your thoughts and translate your gratitude into words? The gift giver must have done a lot more than that. They must have driven out of their house to the mall and walked into different stores until they found the perfect gift for you. But check this out, according to the  Pew Research Center,  75% of cellphone owners text, which means it’s more likely that people will greet and/or acknowlege via  smartphone – not in your mailbox. We now live in a very fast-paced world where we can buy anything we want, plan a trip, pay bills or book dinner reservations by just the click of our mouse or a mere swipe across our smartphones or tablets. Although communication has become overwhelmingly digital, there are still times when a personal handwritten note is much more appropriate. I strongly believe that receiving a “Thank You card/ note” is never over-rated. This may seem “old school” or archaic, but many people underestimate the power of putting pen to paper. More often than not, it makes the receiver smile…  know that a kind word, whether written or spoken, has the power to make someone’s day.

 

thankyou-wording-title-2014-10-28.jpg

I remember that when I was a young girl my mom made us write thank you notes to people who gave us gifts. There were times that I thought I could be doing something better with my time (I felt it was taking away from my reading time coz I was such a book worm.) . Back then I didn’t realize how important a few lines of gratitude could be for the person who gave me the gift. It didn’t matter what was in that card, or how small the gift was. But my mom made sure that we put a lot of thought into what we wrote and that it showed how genuine our apprecition was. Thank you notes are one of those types of communication that should almost always be handwritten. While anyone may give an informal  “thanks”  via email or text, you should most definitely use pen and paper to express gratitude for gifts, events, and genuine acts of kindness.  Whether the gift is big/small or the card is full of encouraging words or $100 bill, we should be thankful that the person thought of us and went out of their way to pick out a card or a gift, write on it and/or wrap it and deliver or mail it. I know that can be a daunting task for kids and moms who have to juggle a fulltime job and caring for the family! It’s just polite to always send a thank you card to anyone who gives you a gift, money, or even does an act of service for you or your children.

 

thank-you-for-gift-cash.jpg

 

If you find yourself at a loss for words, just keep in mind that they should just be heartfelt expressions of personal gratitude. They don’t need to be elaborate or an absolute masterpiece, however, try to check your grammar and spelling. there’s always a spellchecker on the computer. Make every attempt to get the Thank You card out shortly after receiving the gift. If you get busy (which is usually the case) and forget… send that card even if it’s a little late. It’s better than not sending one at all.

 

BTW, a “TIP”… I always keep a stack of  cards for different occasions — thank you, birthday, anniversary, graduation, sympathy, etc. or just beautiful blank cards.  Knowing me being the busy queen bee, I am more likely to get that card in the mail that way than if I had to go out to buy one every single time. Sometimes life can get overwhelming. This makes one less excuse.   😉

I also always have postage stamps at home and in my wallet because you never know when you’ll need it. Just make sure you have an idea how much postage your card needs and go a little bit over if uncertain. 

 

thank_you_letter_for_my_parents_1.jpg

 

 

So next time you receive a card or gift, please let that person know how much their thoughtfulness and generosirty meant to you.  And when we teach our children about being respectful by saying “please” and  “thank you” don’t forget to stress the importance of the “Thank You” note. It has been a practice in my household that my daughters send a handwritten Thank You. Theyre both young adults now who still live with me so they are still reminded from time to time. I hope that when they’re already on their own  that they too will see the importance and power of the TY note and show the gift giver how much they genuinely appreciate them by sending one.

 

 

And remember, ALL gifts should be acknowledged… even those that aren’t exactly appreciated.

 

Namaste!

LIVE  ❤ LAUGH … BELLE PAPILLON 

 

Thank you for taking the time to read this post. Please remember to like, comment, share, and “follow” and/or subscribe here before you leave. Have a blessed day!  Come join me on Twitter , Facebook and Instagram. See you there!🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

