Memes

I have two teenagers at home which makes me somewhat in the loop of things considering I’ve been a hermitess since I started Grad school sometime this year. I’m already homebody to start with so it made it worse coz now I have more excuses not to go out. haha  I’m not sure if it’s just the hassle of driving in traffic or I just enjoy the comfort of the four walls of my home. I live in S. California and I can tell you that it doesn’t matter what time it is or if it’s the weekday or the weekend… the 91, 5, 110, 210, (freeways)  you name it…  it is packed all the friggin’ time (almost).

Anyway, going back to the memes… A ‘meme’ (rhymes with ‘teams’) is a virally-transmitted cultural symbol or social idea. It is noteworthy for two reasons: it is a worldwide social phenomenon, and memes behave like a mass of infectious flu and cold viruses, traveling from person to person quickly through social media. Most modern memes are photos that are captioned are usually  intended to be funny as a way to publicly ridicule human behavior. Not all memes are in the form of photographs, some are either gifs, short videos or verbal expressions.

 

Here’s 5 of the most common memes that I like.

  1. GRUMPY CAT: Who doesn’t know GC? She was everywhere for a while. Still is. I think she’s the reason I found out what a meme is. I found out that  Grumpy Cat‘s real name  is Tard short for ‘Tardar Sauce’. She is from Arizona and she has a disorder called ‘feline dwarfism’. Her distinctive underbite gives her a pouting facial expression which makes her a perfect poster child of sarcasm and faux negativity. Her owners set up an official website for her fans — grumpycats.com.

 

 

2.CHUCK NORRIS:  I just love Chuck’s jokes and memes.   The preposterous exaggerations of Chuck Norris as a modern superman because of his legendary powers are entertaining! It just gets better and better. Nobody can beat that! Not even the new “most iinteresting man in the world”. LOL

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

3. Achmed the Dead Terrorist: I ❤ ❤ ❤ Achmed!!!  He is sooo hilarious!!! (and ventriloquist Jeff Dunham). Together they have achieved international fame where Jeff parodies terrorism with his skeletal friend, Achmed, and manages to win the hearts of their audiences.

 

 

4.  Good Guy Greg: ‘Good Guy Greg’ (also known as GGG) is a pleasant meme promoting the opposite of trolling and negativity on the Web. It is the endearing photo of a guy with a friendly grin smoking marijuana. His photo went viral and has been repeatedly captioned to be an example of acts of kindness and respectful public behaviour.

 

 

5. Sexually Oblivious Rhino: SOR started circulating in 2009. It appears not to understand sexually references in puns. It replies like a young kid who has no idea about sex. It’s an  image macro series featuring a portrait of a rhino on purple background.

 

 

If you’re interested in creating your own meme, you’ll find a simple, step by step guide on here “How to Make a Meme on the Internet“.

 

Here’s a slideshow of the most popular funny memes I’ve found…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

According to my daughter, “memes now are just reaction pictures”.  So this would probably be my new fave.

will-smith-stars-in-men-in-black-3

 

 

Namaste!

LIVE  ❤ LAUGH … BELLE PAPILLON 

 

Thank you for taking the time to read this post. Please remember to like, comment, share, and “follow” and/or subscribe here before you leave. Have a blessed day!  Come join me on Twitter , Facebook and Instagram. See you there!

 

 

Leave a Reply

