October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month

I was just at the Doc’s today… the whole day! I went there for work related stress coz I was taken to the ER last Thursday for on and off chest pains last week (Check out “Workplace Bullying“) and I had a stress test done yesterday. So I went to see my Doc for follow-up check up today and I remembered that since I was already there might as well have her check out the lump I felt on my left breast. I had a history of lumpectomy and biopsy a few years back so she decided to order some mammogram and diagnostic ultrasound — twice… another one after a month. Great job, doc! Way to be proactive. I’m impressed. Go Kaiser!

So, when I went to radiology for my mammogram, I found out that October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month and realized that I haven’t posted about it. (I have a couple of drafts but they’re not ready for posting.) I’ve been posting about Mental Health Awareness and Domestic Abuse and I heard about Filipino-American History month so how did I miss this? Why so many in the month of October. I guess since there’s only 12 months in a year they’ll have to pick that one month with all those things to bring awareness to. LOL

0-final-2014-infographic-julep_edithsanford_5x5-1

Anyway, I did my mammogram, then I went for my diagnostic breast ultrasound… then I noticed that the tech got quiet all of a sudden.. it was taking forever. Then she had to leave the room. Excuse you! Then there was a knock. A young guy comes in and introduces himself to me. Hi lady, I’m Dr.so and so and I’m here coz we found a cyst! Well, it didn’t really go like that but I was freaking out. He says, “We’re hoping it’s just fluid so we have to aspirate, no need to worry — til we find something out— we’ll cross the bridge after the next mammo result comes out.” I was speechless for a moment. “Um, okay? Can I resched?” He says “NO!!!” Ok, no choice… “Can I at least call someone?” He was nice. I called my daughter to be there asap. Long story short. It hurt like hell… kinda sorta. I have low tolerance to pain. They did a mammo right after and sent me home. Now I’m just waiting for the results. If you believe in God… any god… if you pray… please say a little prayer for me. Thanks!

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, which is an annual campaign to increase awareness of the disease. Here are just a few of the ways you can help us help women in need:

  1. Download our free breast health guide above
  2. Host an in-person or virtual fundraiser
  3. Make a one-time or ongoing donation
  4. Share educational content on social media: FacebookInstagramTwitterPinterest

Our mission is to help those affected by breast cancer through early detection, education and support services. Watch our video, Navigating Breast Cancer, to learn more about how we’re Helping Women Now. (Source: NationalBreastCancer.org)

0-screen-shot-2014-03-03-at-8-15-51-pm

Susan G. Komen, formerly known as Susan G. Komen for the Cure and originally as The Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation, often referred to as simply Komen, is the most widely known, largest and best-funded breast cancer organization in the US. Since its inception in 1982, Komen has spent (through 2010) nearly $1.5 billion for breast cancer education, research, advocacy, health services and social support programs in the U.S.,and through partnerships in more than 50 countries. Today, Komen has more than 100,000 volunteers working in a network of 124 affiliates worldwide. (Source: Wiki)

DONATE

Your contribution is more than a donation, it is how we will work to end breast cancer forever. You may choose to direct your donation to stage IV/ metastatic breast cancer research, general breast cancer research, or triple negative breast cancer research.
On behalf of everyone impacted by breast cancer, thank you for being More than Pink.

FUNDRAISE

REGISTER to WALK 

“This isn’t just a walk. It’s the journey to the end of breast cancer.”

Today, 250,000 women in the U.S. are diagnosed with breast cancer annually. More than 40,000 women die of the disease each year, a number that has hardly declined in 25 years. And essential research is severely underfunded. We’re still not devoting enough resources to studying metastatic, or advanced breast cancer — so fewer women die of the disease — or to understanding the environmental links to breast cancer, which would prevent women from getting breast cancer in the first place.  (Source: Washington Post )

Check out Breast Cancer Action, a national organization advocating for women at risk of and living with breast cancer. It is not your average breast cancer organization. It’s fiercely independent and refuse corporate funding from any company that profits from or contributes to breast cancer. That means they can ALWAYS put women’s health first. BCAction was founded in 1990 by a handful of women who were living with and dying from breast cancer and who demanded answers about their disease. Today, BCAction is a national grassroots organization with members across the country. Together they’re challenging the status quo and working to address and end the breast cancer epidemic.

Incidentally, I have a friend who just turned 47 today. She had a mammogram done a couple of weeks ago and found out that she had bilateral malignant breast cancer. Last time I talked to her she said she was going to have double mastectomy. Please pray for her, too. Thank you.

NAMASTE!

LIVE  ❤ LAUGH … BELLE PAPILLON 

Thank you for taking the time to read this post. Please remember to like, comment, share, and “follow” and/or subscribe here before you leave. Have a blessed day!  Come join me on Twitter , Facebook and Instagram. See you there!🙂

One thought on “October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month

Leave a Reply

