MRMW’s: Two-Piece Swimsuit (Love your Body) Part 1

My youngest daughter,Elle, just received the package she ordered from Amazon. She’s been bugging me to order my two-piece swimsuit already but I’m not ready yet. I’m waiting til first week of October just in case I lose some weight but she says I should order it now to gauge the size of the swimsuit and how it fits me then I’ll have time to return it. I thought I’ll still have 3 more weeks before our month long tropical island hopping vacation. She doesn’t think so. Oh well! I’m glad I listened to her.

 

 

Anyway, as I was saying, she received her two-piece swimsuit today and it looked really pretty. She saw that I got all excited so she says “Mom you wanna try it on?”. It wasn’t my style, I needed something more high waisted to cover my “baby bump” and my stretch marks plus I’m really top heavy but I tried it on anyway. After I had it on, she took photos and it just dawned on me that I finally have a two-piece swimsuit on. After all these years. I’m actually wearing one and I don’t care much. I’m ready! Or am I??? I know that I’m going to a country where people are very critical of body sizes, types and shapes… where they don’t think you look sexy unless you appear almost anorexic and they base beauty on how light your skin is. I’m sure they’ll most definitely going to criticize me for even considering putting on something like that. They’ll think someone my size and shape shouldn’t have the audacity to wear a two-piece swimsuit but hey, I don’t care. I’ll rock it! LOL  They (the criticizers) can f#ck themselves! I’m saying that now but I know it will bother me when I’m actually there. Ugh!

 

article-1035510-01f6b66400000578-643_468x815
I thought about Helen Mirren and how hot she looks in this photo at 60+. I can only wish.

I was thinking to myself, why didn’t I think about buying a bikini when I was younger, skinnier and had no stretch marks. When I can actually manage to rock it? I guess I never thought that I was skinny enough.  😦  As I was looking at my reflection in the mirror, it just dawned on me how much weight I lost. I’m actually in a two-piece swimsuit right now. I’m doing this… then I started getting teary eyed. And my teenager started rolling her eyes and said “Mum, why you gotta mess it up? We were having fun!” Anyway, I was getting sentimental. I feel so grateful. Thank you, God!

tumblr_mv6ec6wn4o1schvx1o1_500

 

All these thoughts were running through my head when I thought about an article I read a year or two ago. It’s about this Canadian mother in her 30’s who went to the beach to sunbathe in her bikini and was bullied because of her stretchmarks. So she posted some rants about it on Facebook, kinda like an open letter to those bullies and it went viral. She received thousands of positive comments on her post from all over the world.

“This is an open letter to the 2 guys and 1 girl who decided to skip work today in Sherwood Park where they were building a house, but instead decided to come to Alberta Beach to relax in the sun, enjoy the water and some beers. I’m sorry if my first attempt at sun tanning in a bikini in public in 13 years “grossed you out”. I’m sorry that my stomach isn’t flat and tight. I’m sorry that my belly is covered in stretch marks. I’m NOT sorry that my body has housed, grown, protected, birthed and nurtured FIVE fabulous, healthy, intelligent and wonderful human beings. I’m sorry if my 33 year old, 125 lb body offended you so much that you felt that pointing, laughing, and pretending to kick me. But I’ll have you know that as I looked at your ‘perfect’ young bodies, I could only think to myself “what great and amazing feat has YOUR body done?”. I’ll also have you know that I held my head high, unflinching as you mocked me, pretending that what you said and did had no effect on me; but I cried in the car on the drive home. Thanks for ruining my day. It’s people like you who make this world an ugly hateful place. I can’t help but feel sorry for the women who will one day bear your children and become “gross” in your eyes as their bodies change during the miraculous process of pregnancy. I can only hope that one day you’ll realize that my battle scars are something to be proud of, not ashamed of.” ~~~ Tanis Jex-Blake (Source: Daily Mail UK)

 

affirmations1.jpg

 

 

If only women would start to love their bodies, embrace their flaws, and live their lives without fear of being judged and at the same time lift each other up and stop being critical of each other, then it would be better for every other woman out there. Don’t you think??? ~#BellePapillonWoWs

 

I would like to be bold enough and post a bikini photo here or on my instagram.(No Photoshop) I don’t know… I’ll see if I’ll be able to muster enough courage. OMG!!! We’ll see. 🙂

 

Please check out: “MRMW’s: Two-Piece Swimsuit (Love your Body) Part 2

 

Namaste!

LIVE  ❤ LAUGH … BELLE PAPILLON 

 

Thank you for taking the time to read this post. Please remember to like, comment, share, and “follow” and/or subscribe here before you leave. Have a blessed day!  Come join me on Twitter , Facebook and Instagram. See you there!🙂

 

 

21 thoughts on “MRMW’s: Two-Piece Swimsuit (Love your Body) Part 1

  1. Thankfully ageism is a disease each of it’s sufferers will eventually out grow. I’m reminded of a story: It’s the poorest precinct in a very poor country. Grandfather, old and infirm, can no longer take care of himself. Dad tells his son to load grandfather into the wheelbarrow, trundle him out into the deep woods and leave him there. “Should I just dump him on the ground?” the son asks. “No,” the father says, “leave him in the wheelbarrow, he’ll be more comfortable until the end comes.” “But father, won’t we need the wheelbarrow when it’s your turn?”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

